Lyniate Blog

Insights and Updates From The Healthcare IT Experts

    Retirement of ONC 2014 Certification: What You Need to Know

    Posted by Jim Sdoia on Jul 10, 2020 3:35:18 PM

    In March 2020, the Office of the Coordinator for Health IT (ONC) and Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) published two regulations focused on promoting interoperability and preventing information blocking in healthcare. One element of the ONC rule that didn’t get as much attention as some other aspects of the legislation is that the ONC is retiring the 2014 EHR certification. 

    In 2019, the 2014 Edition was no longer permitted to be used to attest for Meaningful Use. The 2014 Edition was officially retired on June 30, 2020. All open surveillance activities against 2014 Edition certified products were closed as of that date. 

    What This Means for Your Organization

    First, please ensure all your health IT systems are compatible to the most recent certification year, which is 2015.

    • Corepoint versions 2016.3 to the current release, 7.3, are all compatible to the 2015 certification.
    • Rhapsody versions 6.4 to the current release, 6.5, are all compatible to the 2015 certification.

    Also, please note that Corepoint and Rhapsody have native tooling to support your organization’s efforts to transmit data via FHIR, which is the data standard specified in the ONC legislation.

    If your organization is using an older version of Corepoint or Rhapsody, we ask that you upgrade. You can learn more about upgrading, or speak to someone from our Support team, here:

    If you’d like to review the ONC and CMS rules, please check out these resources:


    Topics: onc

    Blog Subscription

    Most Popular

    Post By Topic

    See all